Today

Living in the moment is not something that I can say is a skill for me. In fact… I kinda stink at it. I’m always wishing for something that isn’t. I remember once reading a poem… I can’t find it… but this is what I remember (Other than it was written by someone annonymous)

When we are young, we wish to be older

When we are older, we wish for our youth

When it is cold, we wish for warmth

When it is hot, we wish to be cooler.

It continues pointing out all the things that we wish away. Our youth, sun and more. I always feel convicted when I think of this poem… I really wish I could find it.

But truth is I do it all the time. I wish away today. I think that it will bring me more joy than where I am right now. How wrong I am.

When I wish away today, I miss the joys of shopping for really cute clothes that my kids will look so adorable in. I wish away a nice conversation with my mother… who will not always be here. I wish away my husband making me a great meal. I wish away the chance to beat my boys in yet another game. I wish away the snuggles, kisses, hugs and joys of little ones. Today is a day worth living.

I’m learning a lesson of thankfulness… which also includes stopping to smell the roses. It means that I need to be here, in the moment… enjoying even the dumb sounds of video games that my man and boys are playing together.  They are spending time together- and that is something.

I’ve been challenged by a book. Many of my friends spoke of its beauty and power and elegance… and I finally have joined in on this communion. I now challenge you. Read “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp. I’m writing my list… and in the process I am learning to live in Today.

One thought on “Today

  1. Miriam Smith says:

    Did you finish the book? I would love to read it.

Leave a Reply

