Thanksgiving

It’s hard sometimes to be thankful. In the midst of pain, loss and depths of discouragement, thanksgiving is the last thing on a person’s mind. Yet it is something that God commands of us. I Thessalonians 5:18 “In everything give thanks, for this is the will of God for you”;

So with everything that is going on, good and bad, I am to give thanks.

Does that mean I need to give thanks that my son no longer wants to live with me? Or that there is a feeling of loss in my heart? Or can I get away with not giving thanks for this thing, because it’s so painful?

No, I’m pretty sure that God wants thanks in everything. And the word everything doesn’t really include exceptions. So how, in a spirit of obedience can I give thanks?

I can give thanks that there is a person in my life that is willing to help with this horrid situation. I can give thanks for family and friends that offer support and hugs and most of all prayers. I can give thanks that there is a sense of peace that has returned to our home. I can give thanks that maybe I can learn something important through all this. And maybe, I can give thanks for the heart of God who sees all of this when all I can see is the tears in my eyes and the pain in my heart.

This Thanksgiving was wonderful and not so wonderful at the same time. We all missed Anders terribly, but my mom and sister came for a visit, bringing Tyler home with them. They got in late Tuesday night and stayed for the entire week. It was wonderful! The conversation, teasing, fun, shopping and hugs were amazing!

My in-laws came in Thanksgiving night, just in time for dinner. They had the feast with us and stayed the night before going over to my brother in law’s. It was fun to watch my mom and my mother in law talk and get to know one another… I think that they could be really good friends if they lived closer. We ended up having a great birthday party for Cambria and Levi on Thanksgiving night, since all the family was together. There were so many toys and so many giggles and smiles!

Then my sister had a couple of friends spend the night Friday night as they headed out for Florida and a cruise on Saturday.

It was a crazy, crazy week… the house was full, the kids got spoiled rotten, and I already miss the craziness.

If I take my time, look past the circumstances in front of me there is so much to be grateful for that it would take three posts. Family, friends, a nice home, food on the table, clothes to wear, money to shop, presents and fun for my kids, a husband that loves and supports me, shoulders to cry on, and our health.

Over this time of Thanksgiving, give thanks with me that there is always a reason to give thanks!

Philippians 4:4-7 (4)Rejoice in the Lord always: again I will say, Rejoice. (5)Let your forbearance be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand. (6) In nothing be anxious; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. (7) And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall guard your hearts and your thoughts in Christ Jesus.

One thought on “Thanksgiving

  1. We had a great time at your house on Thursday and Friday morning. It was great meeting your mom again and I think we coud be really good friends. Seems as we may have gone through some of the same trials and tribulations. The only thingt is that we might have had another day or two while we were there. Thanksgiving week is so busy for us with deer-season and then family. Dad and I were worn out but we wanted to come anyway so we did. We sure enjoyed the kids birthday, they were both so cute and excited. Don’t forget that today is Aloisns Birthday. Love you all and hope you enjoy the deer meat. We made chili yesterday using deer meat. It was delicious. God Bless and take care. Levi’s puppy is on top of the fridge. I am sending a ceck for his B. day and Christmas. Will mail it out in the morning if I don’t forget. Goodnigt! Love you all.

Leave a Reply

