Creative Repression

It’s not that I’m trying to repress my creative desires… it’s just that life gets in the way of following them.

The other day as I was driving I thought of 100 different things to do creatively… make a video, take a ton of amazing pictures, make a mural, write some poetry, sew some fabric to make an awesome craft (right after I figure out how to use the dumb sewing machine), put together a scrapbook… you get the idea… all of this creativity was just flowing out of my mind and heart…. until I got home.

Laundry to do, dishes to do, Christmas stuff to put away, rooms to clean, closets to clean out, meals to fix, kids to love on, conversations with husband, games with AJ, and the list goes on… but creativity is lost. None of these things are bad. None of these things are wrong. They are just time consumers, and for me creativity needs time.

Part of the reason I have commited to writing everyday is not just so I can say I’ve done it, but also because I need it. I need to have some part of me being creative, even if all I’m doing is making conversation on paper to describe what a routine day I’ve had.

Does that make sense?

If I had a week all to myself, no kids, no husband, no work or housework… I might still be full of distractions that take away creativity. 😛

I need to discover how to unlock this part of my brain and heart despite the distractions.

Do any of you have any ideas?

One thought on “Creative Repression

  1. Miriam Smith says:

    No more computer games! lol!

Leave a Reply

